I love this time of year, this transition out of winter when the cold subsides and new life springs. But there is another sound that grows, like palpitations, as the season peaks into form; one steal at a time, one fast break… one dunk. The NBA playoffs are quickly approaching and all the top teams are scrambling for position in the post-season, while the rest of the league licks its wounds, playing for pride or simply building toward a bigger, better, next year.

As an artist, I spend a lot of time on my own, in deep contemplation or behind the canvas. I haven’t owned a T.V. in many, many years (by choice). But, since 2002, I became a fan of the game (basketball, that is), it’s quick pace, it’s competitive nature, and the displays of athleticism that are oftentimes awe inspiring. It’s one of the few things in my life that make me feel normal (as I relate to the rest of the world). And it’s a welcome reprieve from the constant grinding. Alas! A time out from myself.

For those of you who keep up, tonight’s matchup between the Spurs and the Cavaliers should be exciting, and perhaps a preview of what’s to come as the season picks its champion. But for now… I’m just looking forward to a few hours away (from reality).

~ Cheers

