Amid the push and pull of the everyday, it’s easy to forget that LIFE is happening all around us, outside the window and beyond the walls. And I probably forget this more often than most, a forever visitor in the alternate universe of my art. But, anyone who has worked from home for any length of time has probably experienced going through an entire day before realizing you never left the house or drew the blinds. Worse yet, is finding yourself still wearing the same rags you slept in, which can fill you with a quiet shame that then compels you into the shower and into a fresh set of clothes, no matter how late it may be.

I’ve made a habit of getting ready “for work” every morning now, not only to ward off the potential embarrassment of bed-head when a friend unexpectedly stops by, but also, to simply motivate myself into motion. Unfortunately, however, I still haven’t conquered that self-imposed pressure that keeps me hidden away for too many hours and days at a time, almost literally seeking sanctuary in the sterile surroundings of home, lost in thought as if these walls were but the projection of my mind, the private room in which I dwell.

But, I digress. I won’t really complain about my occasional Vitamin D deficiencies. I think it only comes with the territory, while still building a career, any career. It is absolutely necessary to keep the creative mechanism active. And I think Isaac Newton would agree.  🙂

But, alack! Alas! Even I like to contradict myself for the sake of balance. And even I, sometimes, just have to shut the machine down, decompress, disconnect, emerge from my cave, and escape into the wilderness of Life, where nature thrives. Oh, yes. Even in the city. And what an intoxicating pleasure it is, to discover that you need only walk out your door.

Just wanted to share this week’s escape, away from the canvas and outside myself.

The view from my Open Door.

The view from my Open Door.

The alleyway, heading out.

The alleyway, heading out.

One of my neighbors.  :)

One of my neighbors. 🙂

Flora: No. 01

Flora: No. 01

Flora: No. 02

Flora: No. 02

Following the sound of flowing water

Following the sound of flowing water

Leaves, after the rain

Leaves, after the rain

On my way back home

On my way back home

Back home, invigorated

Back home, invigorated

